Motor vehicle crashes continue to be the leading cause of death for children between the ages of five and eight years old and many of those children were not properly restrained.
Arizona House Bill 2154, which was signed by Governor Brewer on May 9, 2012 and goes into effect August 2, 2012, mandates that all children between the ages of five and eight years old and under the height of four foot ten inches utilize a booster seat while travelling in a motor vehicle.
The purpose of this new law is to increase occupant protection in motor vehicles for children. The use of a belt-positioning booster seat allows the child to sit higher in the seat so the seatbelt is properly positioned. Studies have shown that the use of belt-positioning booster seats lower the risk of injury to children ages four to eight years old by 45%.
While Arizona has a secondary seatbelt law, officers can stop a vehicle upon observing a child not properly restrained in a motor vehicle and can issue a citation to the driver if a violation is found. The Prescott Police Department has certified Child Safety Seat Technicians available to answer questions and teach you the proper way to install and fit a child safety seat or belt positioning booster. We also have a limited number of child safety seats and booster seats to provide to those families who may not be able to afford one.
The Prescott Police Department urges drivers and passengers to always wear their seatbelts correctly. Also, remember that all children under the age of 8 years old must be in an approved child restraint, all occupants under 16 years of age regardless of position in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt properly, and all front seat occupants regardless of age must wear a seatbelt properly.